Elvis 5K Training Program 2013

20 03 2013

This summer, join Fleet Feet Sports Memphis to walk or run your first or a faster 5K (3.1 miles). The program is structured to help you cross the finish line of your first 5K in less than three months or to improve your current 5K pace time. Along the way we’ll be providing you with motivation to keep you moving, guidance and advice, weekly group training runs or walks, and educational clinics on topics such as proper nutrition, choosing the right gear, and avoiding injury. Plus, you’ll have the camaraderie of others just like you and pacers/mentors on every group run.

  • When will we meet?
    The Elvis Presley 5k Training Program will meet twice a week for 10 weeks. The program starts June 10 and finishes with the Elvis Presley 5k on August 17. We will meet on Mondays and Thursdays at 6pm. Most of our walk/runs will be from Fleet Feet, but we may venture to other places, too!
  • Program Benefits:
    -PERSONALIZED, EXPERIENCED COACHING!!!!! – Two group runs per week – Training schedule -*Elvis Presley 5k Entry Fee* – Weekly e-mails from your coach with tips, advice, motivation, and training schedule – Access to online interactive workout log – Fleet Feet training tech shirt – Experienced mentors/pacers on every group run!
  • Cost: $90 before May 31, $110 after
  • Interested? Sign up here.

Here’s what participants are saying about our training programs:

“This is the first time, of several attempts, that I feel like I will truly be able to run an entire 5K. Without Marcia’s and the pacers’ help, my goal would not have been so close. I am thoroughly enjoying the training sessions through Fleet Feet and find myself wanting to put my shoes on and run now. Thanks to Fleet Feet, Marcia, and the pacers for the encouragement and support.  Even 60-year-olds can start running!”
-Leanna C.

 “Thanks Marcia for helping me achieve my goal for the half marathon. I can’t wait to train with you and Fleet Feet again!! :)”- Emily H.

“I have enjoyed this running program and group so much that I for sure want to come back and train for St Jude half marathon. I like being held accountable for a run and being pushed to go further and do better and having someone to talk to while I run!” – Kristin M.

“It wasn’t all that long ago that I was working my way up to three miles myself. Now in less than a year’s time, I’ve run two 5k races, a 10k, and 2 half marathons. Not too bad for someone who swore up and down she could never do it. I still need motivation sometimes, too, but I think it would be great to try to give back a little of what Marcia and the pacers of our Greenline group gave me. Still can’t believe I’ll be on the other side this time! – Leslie V. (Went from a participant to a pacer!)


Actions

Information

6 responses

28 05 2013
Tamara

So is this appropriate for someone who isn’t much of a runner?

28 05 2013
Eric

Tamara,

This program is perfect for people who are beginners. Absolutely no prior running experience is necessary!

It is designed for people who want to start running or for people who are already running but want to get a little faster.

– Eric

10 06 2013
Janet

Will there be a group for walkers??

10 06 2013
Eric

Hi, Janet! Yes, there will be a group for walkers.

– Eric

7 08 2013
Pam Langley

I just saw this. Can others sign up for the Elvis Presley 5k run?

8 08 2013
Eric

Hi, Pam! Yes, others can sign up! The website is elvispresleyrunandwalk.com. Let us know if you have other questions. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

