Runner Story: Meet Adam

3 02 2014
DSC_0702
1. When did you begin your fitness/weight loss journey?
September (2013), I went into Fleet Feet to get a new pair of shoes for the Copper Young Four Miler. While in the store I saw a flyer for the St. Jude 1/2 marathon training group and signed up that day.
2. How or when did you get into running?
My wife and I moved to Memphis in ’05 and I had been running sporadically at Shelby Farms. I signed up for the Turkey Trot (first race ever) thinking it would be a fun thing to do Thanksgiving morning.
3. Are you currently training for a race?
Yes, Germantown 1/2 Marathon
4. What keeps you motivated?
My wonderful wife Sandy, her support has been crucial to keeping me going & Philippians 4:13: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I taught my daughter this Bible verse and realized that for it to be real to her she had to see me living it, not just saying it.
Adam Kindig
5. Do you enjoy running by yourself or in a group?
I have been lucky to run in a group with some amazing people. The group setting nurtured my curiosity with running and helped it develop into a love of running.
6. What’s your best advice for a new runner?
DO NOT BE INTIMIDATED by other runners or their accomplishments. Running is hard, take pride in the runs YOU do.      Another runner’s sub 4-hour marathon is not more valid than the mile(s) you just ran.
7. What are your running must-haves?
Garmin Forerunner 210 – having the GPS tracking helps keep my runs productive.
Nathan Waist pack – holds plenty of liquid, Gu,and keys
8. Favorite running weather and time of day to run?
45F-55F and just before dawn
9. Do you listen to music when you run? If so, what’s your favorite jam?
If I’m running alone on longer runs I’ll listen to music. Metallica: For Whom the Bell Tolls
10. What’s next for your running goals?
Run a sub 2-hour 1/2 marathon!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

