Fit Feature: Meet Leanna

2 10 2014

Photo on 2013-08-22 at 14.41Running has been Leanna’s saving grace over the past year. Despite her husband becoming critically ill, she completed her first half marathon and is now training for the Road Race Series and St. Jude. We’re proud to have her as part of the Fleet Feet family and want you to get to know a little bit more about this awesome athlete.

When did you get into running or walking?

I began walk/running with the Women Run Walk Memphis program 4 years ago.  I did the walking program the first year, beginning running the 2nd year, intermediate running the 3rd year and was fortunate enough to be able to help out as a coach with the walkers this year.

I did my first training program with Fleet Feet January 2, 2013 for the Germantown 5K. That was my first experience with pacers and being able to log my run/walking, which kept me accountable.  I completed that training, and then trained for the Oak Hall run.

What’s your motivation?

My husband became sick in October 2013 and was hospitalized. I was not able to train like I wanted to but was able to do a few more 5Ks.  In January 2014, I decided I wanted to walk/run the Germantown Half and signed up with Fleet Feet for that training program. By this time, my husband, David, had become more critically ill and doctors were discussing amputating his legs.  The training became a saving grace for me.  Marcia was always encouraging and my pacers (who were usually Dennese and Sarah) kept me going.   Unfortunately, I developed Planters fasciitis while training, so I walked the majority of the Germantown half (I did run the down hills some) but was so proud to finish it. Dennese and Sarah never left my side during the half and Marcia took a couple videos of me running and sent them to my husband who was still in the hospital. I guess you could say that David is my motivation for my run/walking.  I am mostly walking the Road Race Series and am pacing the walkers for the Pumpkin Run while training for the St. Jude Half.

Do you listen to music when you run?

I don’t listen to music when I run/walk because I like to use that time thinking or talking to whomever I am running with.  I do kind of freak out if I go off and forget my water bottle, which I seem to do periodically.

Do you know a runner/walker we should feature on our website and newsletter? E-mail us at lovetorun@fleetfeetmemphis.com.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

