Fit Feature: Joel S.

7 11 2014

joel

Name: Joel S.

Occupation: Attorney

When did you start running or walking?

August 2014

What was your motivation to get started?

I have a friend who encouraged and challenged me. I knew I needed to do something to get in shape, but I needed an activity that gave me flexibility with work.

Do you prefer running alone or in a group? 

In a group- special thanks to Meleia, Autumn and Wendy who have made the Fleet Feet Saturday morning training runs fun!

What made you decide to train with Marcia and Fleet Feet?

My friend had joined the group and could not say enough good things about Marcia and how accepting Fleet Feet was of new runners.

What is your current must-have gear?

Nathan Quickview handheld water bottle

Are you currently training for a race?

I’m training for the St. Jude Half Marathon in December

Do you listen to music when you run? If so, what’s on your playlist?

I listen to podcasts and music– I like Stuff You Missed in History Class and TED Radio Hour podcasts. I listen to all genres of music, but my guilty pleasure go-to song when I’m fading is Darius Rucker’s version of Wagon Wheel.

How has running benefited your health and your personal life?

I have lost a fair amount of weight.

What keeps you motivated now that you’re further into your journey?

A sense of accomplishment.

Thanks for sharing, Joel and good luck with St. Jude! If you know someone we should feature, please e-mail us at lovetorun@fleetfeetmemphis.com


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

