Rita J: Boston Bound!

5 03 2015
10382156_10152739626632696_3577876769543912223_n
Rita is a regular of our Monday Night Fun Runs and Thursday Night Workouts and recently qualified for the Boston Marathon for 2016! She also coaches the White Station Cross Country and Track team. Keep reading to learn more about this awesome runner and friend of the store!
– When did you start running?
  I started running competitively in sixth grade cross country.  My first meet was the last meet of the season.– What’s your motivation to keep running?

Overall health and camaraderie with running friends.  I feel better physically and mentally when I run.– What’s your favorite exercise besides running?

I love to do yoga.  It helps me with running.  One of my favorite classes is the free class at Fleet Feet on some Sunday nights.– Do you prefer running alone or in a group?

I prefer running in a group.  It makes running easier and more fun for me. I like to run at the Fleet Feet Monday and Thursday night group runs.– What are you training for now?

I’m planning to race 3-milers and 5k’s this spring and summer.  I will start with the Oak Hall 3-miler in May.– What’s one of your bucket list races?

I’ve always wanted to race the Boston Marathon.  I have my BQ for 2016.– What are your running gear must-haves?

 When it is very cold outside, I wear my Brooks glove/wind-proof mitten combo.  My favorite socks are SmartWool and Balega (the thick ones).
Know someone we should feature? Let us know at lovetorun@fleetfeetmemphis.com

Actions

Information

One response

6 03 2015
Lisa Warmuth

Rita is such an inspiration! It’s been a pleasure getting to know her through the Fleet Feet Yoga for Runners class. Successful runners include yoga in their training routine. Rita has been a wonderful student!

Leave a Reply

