Angela M: Grief Brought Her to Running

7 04 2015

DSC_0131

Angela has been a part of our Fleet Feet training programs, and we wanted to share her running journey with you.

When did you start running/walking? I began running/walking in January of 2014. I ran/walked my first 5k in March 2014.

What was your motivation? My motivation to make a lifestyle change came with the passing of my mother in 2013. Her last words to me was that she wanted me to take care of myself now that I had taken care of her for so many years. Grief consumed my life and I struggled to get moving. I decided in October of 2013 I needed to honor my mom’s last wishes, and I started this journey.

What’s your greatest running/walking accomplishment? My greatest accomplishment, has been completing my training for my first half marathon. When our group ran our longest distance of 11 miles, I felt I had conquered a huge fear of failure. I want to thank Marcia Scott for a fabulous training program and wonderful pacers. I will be completing my first half marathon on April 11, 2014.

What’s next with your training? I would like to work on improving my pace. I hope to continue running with the friends I have made through the Fleet Feet Program.

Do you have a bucket list of races? What’s on it? My bucket list of races would include running the U.S. Marines Corps Marathon in D.C., any race at Disney World, and a race in Hawaii.

Do you prefer running/walking in a group or by yourself? I definitely prefer to run/walk with a group.

What’s your favorite race you have completed and why? My favorite race thus far has been the St. Jude 5k because I knew that I was helping to make a difference in finding a cure for cancer.

What are some of your must-have running accessories/apparel? The only running accessory that I must have would be having the right shoes.

Know someone we should feature? E-mail us at lovetorun@fleetfeetmemphis.com.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

